Finally a decision

I’ve been sitting on my story Miss Havisham’s Ghost for over two (or even three) months, unable to go anywhere with it, so I decided the best thing to do was to give up. Not give up on writing the story but on trying to combine the two stories into one.

I have done this – bring in something autobiographical – before in a story and one of my friends thought the real person I was talking about was the grown up version of the child in the story. It hadn’t occurred to me that anyone would, but I thought if that story was confusing then this one would be even more so! So this morning I split them up.

And now I have two stories – each one almost 4,000 words. One is a traditional (so far) ghost story without a title, while the other is mainly autobiographical. All I need to do is progress the ghost story without the added complication of weaving in the other. The challenges of course, remain the same as ever!

2 thoughts on “Finally a decision

  1. I can give you several good ideas from my personal experiences with the supernatural. They materialise when you least expect them to – look round now!

    The girl in the green dress haunts Ann’s room at Snowshill Manor, drawn back to the place of her unhappy wedding day, February 13th 1604, and more instances.

    While yet a boy I sought for ghosts, and sped
    Through many a listening chamber, cave and ruin,
    And starlight wood, with fearful steps pursuing
    Hopes of high talk with the departed dead.
    (Shelley).

Leave a Reply

