This is the childhood that I daily dreamed of

Another sonnet. I like the sonnet form! The name sonnet derives from the Occitan word sonet and the Italian word sonetto, both meaning ‘little song’. The form dates back centuries and has come to signify a poem of 14 lines with a strict rhyming scheme and specific structure. There is usually (traditionally anyway) a volta or turn more often than not after the first eight lines. This volta marks the place where the initial ‘problem’ in poetic terms, is ‘resolved’. Shakespeare was a lover of sonnets and wrote 154!

This is the childhood that I daily dreamed of

This is the childhood that I daily dreamed of
In beauty, you and I, in laughter, playing
See how I loved you, though I rarely hoped for,
Not yet born, in sleep, in dreams, in praying.
This is the motherhood I daily dreamed of
In beauty, you and I, in laughter, caring
Know how I loved you, though I never hoped for,
Believed that we might, this love, be sharing.

But now that my life is all I wished for
In beauty, you and I, in laughter, loving
Believe I loved you, though I never hoped for
This lifetime, in beauty, walking, living
So quiet now in sleep, in dreams, I wake
To find you not yet gone, but still with me

4 thoughts on “This is the childhood that I daily dreamed of

    • Thank you. I wish I could read your blog – I guess it’s in Portuguese? I only understand a few words.

Leave a Reply

